Wow…I’m busy

I thought summer was a time for relaxation.  It turns out that I have more anticipation and anxiety over the major amount of uncertainty, than I did when I was taking 15 credits and ouworking full-time. 

I have my heart set on obtaining my MBA.  It’s been a goal of mine for quite a while.  With this comes the long and hard process of choosing a program.  Full-time?  Part-time?  The school I would love to go to, out in the middle of a midwestern cornfield, or the local university that offers a decent program?  What can I afford? 

At the same time, I’ve been searching for a full-time job.  I’m employed, but drastically underpaid for the level of work I do.  I’m sick of scraping by and would love to get a nicer paycheck. 

I think most employers look at top ranked b-schools for people in their mid-twenties that don’t have much experience.  I’m in the conundrum of having a lot of great experience without ANY degree (although, I’m graduating with my BA this fall).  If I’m wrong about this, someone please correct me, but statistics say that if I were to graduate with my MBA tomorrow, without a corporate internship, I’m less likely to get a $90,000 salary than the 25 year old that just finished his full-time MBA program at a top 50 b-school. Sad but true.  Depressing, I know.

All-in-all, being a nontraditional undergrad, it comes down to doing whatever I want.  I have the world at my fingertips and can apply anywhere I choose.  Paying the tuition is a whole other story….

Leave a Reply

