It’s been a while.

I don’t know if I’m “meant” to blog or not.  I haven’t written since June and, although I think I have a ton of ideas to discuss, I wonder if my ideas are of any importance to the rest of the world.  That being said, I’m going against my gut feeling and will make a consorted effort to write once a week.  We’ll see how long this lasts.  If anything, I can keep my writing skills up to par. 

There was a lot of weird energy floating around today.  It was interesting, yet a little difficult to handle. 

School starts back on Monday and I’m thrilled.  It’s my last term and I’ll be literally counting down the days.  IABC is also starting up.  I just hope I get the student response I’m hoping for.  I’d love to see the group succeed.

New students have been coming to campus for freshman orientation.  Oakland has turned into, “controlled mayhem.”  Newbs are running around without a clue where to go, disgruntled parents help tote new microwaves and mini-fridges to rooms already equipped by roommates, then parking is always a nightmare – even during the summer. 

Random note – I ran into Serge today.  Was glad to see him, even if just for a second.  He’s going to find a cure for cancer and I can say I knew him.  He’s also kinda cute, and doesn’t know it, which makes him more so.

On the job front, I found out I didn’t get my latest opportunity.  I was a finalist for a high-level corporate position with my current company.  The entire thing was not only disappointing, but also a little frustrating, since I spent over 8 hours in interviews and took two vacation days from work.  Their feedback was, “the team felt you lacked ‘executive presence.'” I took as half-ass way of saying ‘you just don’t have it,’  which I would have preferred. 

Word of note to job hunters – 10 minutes is all you need to screw things up.   I literally had 25 minutes with the top boss, crashed after the first 10 and never adequately recovered.  The rest of the day, however, went stellar!  I guess I was hoping the opinions of the many would have outweighed the opinion of one.  It didn’t work out that way.  I guess I could say it helped build character…which is just a half-ass way of saying “get over it.”

More later…need to listen to more PSB.

Leave a Reply

